No Leavin' Texas 1968-1982: The Classic Jerry Jeff (Double) RVCD-387

The first comprehensive, multi-label overview of acclaimed singer / songwriter JERRY JEFF WALKER’S key, creative period – No Leavin’ Texas 1968-1982: The Classic Jerry Jeff is a full 2-CD set with tracks from 15 albums and 6 labels: ATCO, Vanguard, Decca, MCA, Elektra and SouthCoast. Walker’s first three albums for ATCO – Mr. Bojangles, Five Years Gone and Bein’ Free – established him as the writer of the oft-covered, bitter-sweet ‘Mr. Bojangles’. By the early 1970s he was a vital part of the rising, progressive “outlaw” Country scene around Austin alongside Willie Nelson, Guy Clark, Billy Joe Shaver, Waylon Jennings and Townes Van Zandt. His genre-defining, mid-70s albums for Decca and MCA – Jerry Jeff Walker, Viva Terlingua!, Walker’s Collectibles and It’s a Good Night for Singin’ – marked his transition to a bona fide Texas music hero.

His two albums for Elektra – Jerry Jeff and Too Old to Change – continued the high standard with two more for SouthCoast – Reunion and Cowjazz – rounding out his potent album releases to that time. All his peerless, self-penned songs are here – ‘Mr. Bojangles’, ‘Driftin’ Way Of Life’, ‘Stoney’, ‘Hill Country Rain’, ‘Leavin’ Texas’, ‘Maybe Mexico’ – plus many outstanding covers like Guy Clark’s ‘L.A. Freeway’ and ‘Desperados Waiting For A Train’, Billy Joe Shaver’s ‘Old Five And Dimers Like Me’, Bob Livingston’s ‘It’s A Good Night For Singin’ and Rodney Crowell’s ‘I Ain’t Livin’ Long Like This’. All are of a consistently superior quality making this compelling collection a must have for any Jerry Jeff fan. With superb audio, color booklet and detailed liner notes by All Music Guide’s Thom Jurek. “(Jerry Jeff Walker is) not only a great songwriter but a wonderful interpreter...”

1. Mr. Bojangles
2. I Makes Money (Money Don’t Make Me)
3. Driftin’ Way Of Life
4. Morning Song To Sally
5. Help Me Now
6. I’m Gonna Tell On You
7. A Secret
8. Stoney
9. Hill Country Rain
10. Charlie Dunn
11. That Old Time Feeling
12. L.A. Freeway
13. Gettin’ By
14. Desperados Waiting For A Train
15. Up Against The Wall, Redneck
16. Salvation Army Band
17. Pot Can’t Call The Kettle Black
18. Pissin’ In The Wind
19. (Looking For) The Heart Of Saturday Night
1. Pick Up The Tempo
2. She Left Me Holdin’
3. Standin’ At The Big Hotel
4. Couldn’t Do Nothin’ Right
5. Old Five And Dimers Like Me
6. Some Day I’ll Get Out Of These Bars
7. It’s A Good Night For Singin’
8. Don’t It Make You Wanna Dance?
9. One Too Many Mornings
10. Leavin’ Texas
11. Tryin’ To Hold The Wind Up With A Sail
12. Suckin’ A Big Bottle Of Gin
13. Eastern Avenue River Blues
14. Comfort And Crazy
15. Northcoast Texas Women
16. Too Old To Change
17. I Ain’t Livin’ Long Like This
18. Got Lucky Last Night
19. Maybe Mexico
20. Dealing With The Devil

Also available
Mr Bojangles / Five Years Gone / Bein’ Free (RVCD-375) Double
It’s a Good Night for Singing’ / Contrary to Ordinary (RVCD-354) Double
Walker’s Collectables / Ridin’ High (RVCD-349) Double
Jerry Jeff Walker (RVCD-320)

All prices quoted in AUD$

AUD$ 20.95 (available)