A Picture Of Me / Nothing Ever Hurt Me / The Grand Tour / Memories Of Us / I Am What I Am (Double CD) RVCD-395

On Double CD A Picture Of Me / Nothing Ever Hurt Me / The Grand Tour / Memories Of Us / I Am What I Am combines the five essential GEORGE JONES albums from the singer’s celebrated body of astonishing work throughout the 1970s. Recorded for Epic Records, these five albums are regarded as among the high watermark releases of his entire career. The Grammy Award winning Jones (who died in 2013) has been cited as among the half dozen greatest popular song stylists of all time. Allmusic Guide called him “the finest vocalist in the recorded history of Country music”. Merle Haggard likened Jones’ voice to “A Stradivarius violin: one of the greatest instruments ever made. He could interpret any given set of words better than anybody I’ve ever heard.”(/p>

Under the direction of famed produced Billy Sherrill, these albums find Jones in optimistic mood with his mature and smooth voice combining well with Sherrill’s production sheen. Includes the Billboard Country hits ‘A Picture Of Me (Without You)’, ‘What My Woman Can’t Do’, ‘Nothing Ever Hurt Me (Half As Bad As Losing You)’, ‘The Battle’ and the Number 1s ‘The Grand Tour’ and ‘He Stopped Loving Her Today’ – all of which remain among his fans’ favorite songs. This set features superb audio, color booklet, rare photos and detailed liner notes.

A Picture Of Me (Without You) (1972)
1. A Picture Of Me (Without You)
2. The Man Worth Lovin’ You
3. She Knows What She’s Crying About
4. Second Handed Flowers
5. That Singing Friend Of Mine
6. She Loves Me (Right Out Of My Mind)
7. Tomorrow Never Comes
8. Another Way To Say Goodbye
9. On The Back Row
10. Let There Be A Woman
11. We Found A Match
Nothing Ever Hurt Me (Half As Bad As Losing You) (1973)
12. Nothing Ever Hurt Me (Half As Bad As Losing You)
13. You’re Looking At A Happy Man
14. Never Having You
15. Made For The Blues
16. What’s Your Mama’s Name?
17. Mom And Dad’s Waltz
18. You’ll Never Grow Old (To Me)
19. What My Woman Can’t Do
20. My Loving Wife
21. Love Lives Again
22. Wine (You’ve Used Me Long Enough)
The Grand Tour (1974)
23. The Grand Tour
24. Darlin’
25. Pass Me By (If You’re Only Passing Through)
26. She’ll Love The One She’s With
27. Once You’ve Had The Best
28. Borrowed Angel
The Grand Tour (Continued)
1. The Weatherman
2. She Told Me So
3. Mary Don’t Go ’Round
4. Who Will I Be Loving Now
5. Our Private Life
Memories Of Us (1975)
6. Memories Of Us
7. Touch Of Wilderness
8. A Goodbye Joke
9. What I Do Best
10. She Should Belong To Me
11. Have You Seen My Chicken
12. She Once Made A Romeo Cry
13. Bring On The Clowns
14. Hit And Run
15. I Just Don’t Give A Damn
I Am What I Am (1980)
16. He Stopped Loving Her Today
17. I’ve Aged Twenty Years In Five
18. Brother To The Blues
19. If Drinkin’ Don’t Kill Me (Her Memory Will)
20. His Lovin’ Her Is Getting In My Way
21. I’m Not Ready Yet
22. I’m The One She Missed Him With Today
23. Good Hearted Woman
24. A Hard Act to Follow
25. Bone Dry
Bonus Tracks
26. The Battle
27. I Can’t Get Over What Lovin’ You Has Done
28. Love Coming Down

Also available

Dispatches 1990-1999: A Critical Collection (RVCD-199)
Step Right 1970-1979: A Critical Anthology (RVCD-292)
George Jones / I Wanta Sing (RVCD-343)

Raven is unable to sell this title outside of Australian and New Zealand

All prices quoted in AUD$

AUD$ 20.95 (available)