Searching For Sunshine 1973-1980 (Double CD) RVCD-390

In combining three first-rate albums, this Double CD presents the renowned funk, soul and jazz composer, supreme vocalist and vibraphone master ROY AYERS as the undisputed leader in his field. Searching for Sunshine 1973-1980: You Send Me / Fever / No Stranger To Love represents the very essence of the Godfather of Neo-Soul. The LA-born Ayers started as a bebop sideman in the early 1960s before rising to prominence when he joined jazz flautist Herbie Mann’s band in 1966. As leader of his own band Roy Ayers Ubiquity during the 1970s, he was one of the pioneers of jazz-funk and went on to be a key figure in the development of acid jazz and one of the most influential and sampled artistes in recording history. His late 1970s albums combined here were big sellers: You Send Me (1978) - Billboard #48 / R&B #16 / Jazz #4; Fever (1979) - Billboard #67 / R&B #25 / Jazz #6; and No Stranger To Love (1980) - Billboard #82 / R&B #22.

Ayers added vocalist Carla Vaughn for You Send Me and her presence is a great asset to the rich vein of soul, R&B and jazz-funk. “You Send Me is rightly considered a classic by soul and funk enthusiasts” (All Music). No Stranger To Love mixes sweaty funk grooves (‘Slyde’, ‘Don’t Stop The Feeling’) with intense, jazzy soul and the deep groove of ‘Want You’ (sampled by Jill Scott). “Whether he’s in shake-your-booty mode or lover-man mode, Ayers exited the ’70s on a high note with this excellent LP.” (All Music). This collection includes the R&B / Dance hits ‘Don’t Stop The Feeling’, ‘Running Away’ and his signature tune ‘Everybody Loves The Sunshine’ which has been sampled numerous times (Brand Nubian, P.M. Dawn, Common, Masta Ace, Mary J. Blige, Dobie etc). “Once one of the most visible and winning jazz vibraphonists of the 1960s, then an R&B bandleader in the 1970s and ’80s, Roy Ayers’ reputation is now that of one of the prophets of acid jazz, a man decades ahead of his time” Richard S. Ginell (All Music). With superb audio, 8 bonus tracks, color booklet, rare photos and detailed liner notes.


You Send Me (1978)
1. You Send Me
2. I Wanna Touch You Baby
3. Can’t You See Me?
4. Get On Up, Get On Down
5. Everytime I See You
6. Rhythm
7. And Don’t You Say No
8. It Ain’t Your Sign, It’s Your Mind
Fever (1979)
9. Love Will Bring Us Back Together
10. Simple And Sweet
11. Take Me Out To The Ball Game
12. I Wanna Feel It (I Wanna Dance)
13. Fever
14. Is It Too Late To Try?
15. If You Love Me
16. Leo
No Stranger To Love (1980)
1. Don’t Stop The Feeling
2. What You Won’t Do For Love
3. Shack Up, Pack Up, It’s Up (When I’m Gone)
4. Slyde
5. No Stranger To Love / Want You
6. Don’t Let Our Love Slip Away
7. Don’t Hide Your Love
Bonus tracks
8. Love From The Sun
9. Vibrations
10. Searching
11. Everybody Loves The Sunshine
12. Keep On Walking
13. Running Away
14. No Deposit, No Return
15. Love Fantasy

All prices quoted in AUD

AUD$ 18.95 (available)